Stat counter

Who writes this stuff?

My photo
Amsterdam, Netherlands
I've recently moved to Amsterdam from London and wanted to start blogging on the highs and the lows, and everything else in-between. It's also a bit of ranting and raving and a load of blah blah blah.

Monday, 23 November 2009

Translation of nu.nl's 'Nederlanders moeten volharden in eigen taal'

THE HAGUE: Dutch people mustn't undervalue their own language. This is what Eberhard van der Laan the minister for housing, communities and integration thinks, as was published on the ministry's website.

According to the Minister "As soon as they realise that they're speaking to someone who's Dutch isn't very good, Dutch people then have the tendency to change to a language that suits the other person. They mean well, but the other person doesn't learn anything from it. Encourage the other person, help them, but continue to speak your own language. Other countries do it and that encourages foreign residents to learn the language as quickly as possible."

One step ahead

What am I on about? This article was published today on nu.nl, a top Dutch online website. As I point out in my last post, it is very hard to practice the language as most people are very quick just to speak English with you. It's rather a generalisation, sorry about that (there are people I've met who will let you try, but these are people who are friends or who know me). On a whole though, most do just want to make life easier. Point is, you will never learn a language if you can't practice it.

Read the nu.nl article here



Maybe the problem is the most Dutch people as a nation just aren't very proud of their language. Maybe a campaign for the government, but lets not think about that, it's all getting a bit too political now, I need to go and lie down...

Friday, 20 November 2009

The biggest pain when learning Dutch

One last rant before I start work on the re-design of the site. It's now been a year since I moved to The Netherlands and I began learning Dutch in February. Learning a language is, of course always hard, but I have to say that I've not found actually learning the language that difficult, only actually getting to use it is the hardest. Then, you find yourself going round in circles, from the trying to converse, to then thinking why do I bother, to back to making the effort again.

Why? Today, it became apparant.

My problem is so it seems, that I either do a good job of fitting into this culture, or I look Dutch (whatever that is). People assume I'm Dutch and talk to me, then expecting a fluent response. I can respond, and do, in as best Dutch as possible. I have to say I am semi-fluent, but sometimes I'm missing a word, or my pronnounciation is too 'English'. Often then the reaction I get is then in English, but most annoyingly is mid-sentence of trying in Dutch the other person says, 'you can say it in English'. Fine, I can, it's my mother tongue after all, but why have I bothered then to learn Dutch, and how am I ever going to get better or learn to say what I want to say in all kinds of situations? Learning a language doesn't just come from learning grammer in a classroom, it comes from experience.

So at this point, I usually wonder why I bother, and give up. Not actually a good feeling anyway, this is then confirmed when I hear an advert on the radio to get people learning the language, or have a conversation with someone who is wondering if I have learn't any Dutch. So then I end up at square 1, trying to converse.

On the other hand, sometimes it does go ok, and I've spent a whole evening in a group never speaking a word of English. Of course everyone's different, but one word to anyone who meets someone trying to learn your langugage: be patient, let them have time to compose what they want to say, and then don't be scared to correct them in a tacktful way. You only learn from your mistakes, but part of that is also realising what was incorrect. Goes for all things in life I suppose.

So anyway, I'm caught up in this process, and a battle of wills. Or a loosing battle some might say.

Saturday, 5 September 2009

A short break

As I'm about to load up the campervan in the pouring Amsterdam rain I wanted to mention that for two weeks I'm going on a camping holiday to Croatia. Driving down through Germany, Austria and then Slovenia I plan to take lots of pictures and, of course update the blog when I'm back.

Wednesday, 26 August 2009

Lush kitchen tiles

ttgreen.jpgOn a different note, I am on the look out for some tiles for the kitchen to act as a splash back round the cooker and sink when I came across these fantastic delights called Tetris Tiles, based on the hopelessly addictive '80's computer game. (See right)

The initial idea was to use white mosaic tiles, but it seems a bit boring, and it'd be nice to make a feature out of the tile work. Another option I found are glass and really unique called City Scene tiles by Peggy Karr. (See below)


Rockefeller TSMZ003

Seaport TSMZ006

Times Square TSMZ001






I'll keep you posted, but me-thinks this may be a new project for the autumn.

Tuesday, 25 August 2009

Recycling an old filing cabinet

This weekend, as well as enjoying the amazing weather I finally got round to choosing a colour for the cabinet and spraying it. As you may recall from an earlier post a couple of weeks ago the newest arrival in the house was an old filing cabinet which needed a bit of colour.

All it took was a good clean, some amonia to de-grease it and 3 cans of spray paint which cost about €10 off the Waterlooplein market. Spraying it went pretty easily although everything outside was covered in plastic sheeting and newspaper. Just two coats and touching up needed on some spots was all it needed. I worked front to back, but it's really just a case of making sure all points are covered. Easy and fun work, and gives you fantastic results!

Monday, 24 August 2009

Boating Sunday

Saturday bought into a boat share with Tom and two other friends. So Sunday we took it out for a spin on Nieuwe Meer chilling out on the water in the sun. The motor isn't back from it's service yet so we had to row. Which apparently is good for you, according to man-on-boat-with-dog who at one point passed us.






Sunday, 16 August 2009

Housey must-haves

vintage metal filing cabinet before being re-sprayedvintage metal filing cabinet handle detail

This weekend has been a couple of days of buying new furniture and organising junk. As I've just committed to a mortgage on a new place, it's now the next, and much more enjoyable task of choosing furniture and decorations. Moving from a 1 bed miniscule flat in Tufnell Park only the necessary and emotionally attached of our belongings came with us, which means there's been so much to buy. What really was missing was a media cupboard for all the stereo, digi-box, dvds and the rest to be shut away in. For some reason this was the weekend to do it.

So, I took a trip out to Zaandam and visited a couple of the hip home shops there and came back with this old office filling cabinet from Loods 5. It matches the filing drawers Tom and I already had, but the plan is to spray paint it.

Now for the difficult decision - what colour? Please leave your ideas below!!!